Academic Calendar - 2024

Western University Academic Calendar. - 2024



An innovative Certificate program offering professionals and lay persons an opportunity to explore cultural, social, and personal aspects of loss, death, dying, and grief; to gain knowledge and experience in providing support for those who experience significant losses, individuals who are terminally ill, and those who experience grief, and to examine relevant legal, ethical, and social issues. The program emphasizes an interdisciplinary approach to the exploration of loss and grief, with an emphasis on effective support and collaboration with community-based services. Many of the courses in this program will be offered online or in mixed-methods teaching models. The Certificate in Loss, Grief, and Bereavement Studies replaces the former Certificate in Grief and Bereavement Studies offered through Western's Centre for Continuing Studies.

Academic standing is retained for the degree-credit courses completed in a certificate program. Students may pursue the Certificate concurrently with an undergraduate degree. Courses for the Certificate taken concurrently with a Thanatology module may count for both.

Admission Requirements

Enrolment in the Certificate requires students currently registered in an undergraduate program, to have a cumulative average of 65%.

Module/Program Information

Program Requirements:

To qualify for the Certificate in Loss, Grief and Bereavement Studies, students must achieve an overall average of 65% in the following 5.0 courses:

2.5 courses: Thanatology 1025A/B, Thanatology 2225A/B, Thanatology 2230F/G, Thanatology 2231F/G, Thanatology 3360A/B.
1.5 courses from: Thanatology 2206F/G, Thanatology 2605A/B, Thanatology 3603A/B, Thanatology 3606F/G, Thanatology 3607A/B.
1.0 additional course in Thanatology at the 2200-level or above.